November 1, 2014: MCBA State Finals

MCBA State Finals are this Saturday. 49 bands are competing for a chance at the title of “MCBA State Champion.” Only four bands will claim these titles; which four will they be?

Important information

Ford Field is located at 2000 Brush Street in Detroit, MI 48226. Parking in Ford Field lots is $6 per car.

Ticket sales are CASH ONLY. Adults cost $18; Students and Seniors cost $14; Children 5 and Under are Free.

The Ticket booths open at 7:00 AM and the Stadium will open at 7:15 AM.

Flight start times are as follows: Flight II – 8:15 AM ; Flight I – 12:00 PM ; Flight IV – 3:45 PM ; Flight III – 7:30 PM.

Remember the NFL Bag Policy is in play here. It could easily be summarized by “don’t bring bags,” but there’s more to it:

Downtown Detroit is currently under massive construction. As always, plan extra time for travel and arrival!

Between Flights…

With 12 bands per Flight, the day is pretty compact. There will not be a lot of time between Awards and the next Flight. In courtesy to fellow spectators, we recommend that those arriving for the next Flight enter the stands toward the end zones and allowing the current flight spectators the opportunity to exit before moving towards the 50. This seems to create the quickest spectator shift.

The Competition:

Flight II

8:15 AM Wyandotte Roosevelt
8:30 Carman-Ainsworth
8:45 Highland Milford
9:00 White Lake Lakeland
9:15 Flushing
9:30 Southgate Anderson
9:45 Farmington Hills Harrison
10:00 South Lyon
10:15 Portage Northern
10:30 L’Anse Creuse
10:45 Jenison
11:00 Reeths-Puffer
11:15 Awards


Flight I

12:00 PM Livonia Franklin
12:15 L’Anse Creuse North
12:30 Clarkston
12:45 West Bloomfield
1:00 Grand Blanc
1:15 Grandville
1:30 Troy Athens
1:45 Novi
2:00 Walled Lake Central
2:15 Lake Orion
2:30 Rockford
2:45 Plymouth-Canton
3:00 Awards


Flight IV

3:45 PM Kent City
4:00 Durand
4:15 SCS South Lake
4:30 Watervliet
4:45 Brooklyn Columbia Central
5:00 Parchment
5:15 Grant
5:30 Comstock Park
5:45 Belding
6:00 Allegan
6:15 Newaygo
6:30 Godwin Heights
6:45 Awards


Flight III

7:30 PM Hazel Park
7:45 Madison Hts. Lamphere
8:00 DeWitt
8:15 Marysville
8:30 Cedar Springs
8:45 Linden
9:00 Mt. Pleasant
9:15 Farmington
9:30 Redford Thurston
9:45 Ferndale
10:00 GR Northview
10:15 Stevensville Lakeshore
10:30 Byron Center
10:45 Awards

Due to CAS chart scores and ruling provisions set forth by MCBA, Hazel Park was granted attendance in State Finals, allowing 13 bands to compete in Flight III this year.


We want to wish all the bands the best of luck this Saturday and we hope it to be an exiting day.

This entry was posted in News.